Canada’s Premiers Announce Literacy Award Recipients for 2014

September 8, 2014 - On the occasion of International Literacy Day, Canada’s Premiers announced today the recipients of the 10th annual Council of the Federation Literacy Award. The award celebrates outstanding achievement, innovative practice and excellence in literacy. It is presented to educators, volunteers, learners, community organizations, non-governmental organizations and businesses.

Recipients of the 2014 Council of the Federation Literacy Award are:

Calgary Immigrant Women’s Association - Alberta
Anne Docherty - British Columbia
André Tourramitouyaï - Manitoba
Linda Anne Richards - Newfoundland and Labrador
St. Croix Public Library - New Brunswick
Kedgwick Public Library - New Brunswick
Julie White - Northwest Territories
Sheila Morash - Nova Scotia
Neil Christopher - Nunavut
Tim Nicholls Harrison - Ontario
Marsha Bernard - Prince Edward Island
Karine Buisson - Québec
Edith Klassen - Saskatchewan
Tina Jules - Yukon

“On behalf of all Premiers, I extend congratulations to the 2014 recipients of the Council of the Federation Literacy Award,” said Robert Ghiz, Premier of Prince Edward Island and Chair of the Council of the Federation. “The hard work and accomplishments of this year’s recipients, all of whom have shown an exceptional commitment to literacy, are worthy of recognition by Canadians across the country.”

Premiers recognize the importance of literacy as a major factor in Canadians' ability to participate as full and active citizens in all areas of society. Established in 2004, the award celebrates outstanding contributions made by Canadians across the entire spectrum of the field of literacy, including family, Aboriginal, health, workplace and community literacy.

Each recipient receives a certificate, signed by the Premier of their province or territory, as well as a Council of the Federation Literacy Award medallion.

- MORE -